Drinking Buddies (2013) Movie Review

Because beer and flirting goes hand in hand…

Drinking Buddies revolves around the lives of four people. Kate and Luke are friends who work at a beer factory craft brewery. Both of them are in a relationship with another people, but still throw harmless flirts every now and then. Things change when their partners actually fall for each other. What will happen to their relationship? Although Drinking Buddies follow the usual rom-com it is pretty unusual. The heavy flirting between Kate and Luke is predicted but are they compatible for each other? I love realistic drama and the movie falls into the latter category.

Have you heard about Mumblecore film genre? Drinking Buddies is shot only in several places which shows the film is not back up by major studios. But, what’s more interesting is that it falls into the Mumblecore zone. There is no script when these four actors signed up. They all improvised their dialogues and acting and it gives a realistic effect to the film. I think the cast really complement each other, especially Jake Johnson and Olivia Wilde who showed off their real acting talent in this one. Anna Kendrick is nicely cast as Jill but her character can irks some, while Ron Livingston as Chris is off putting.

My favourite scene is towards the end when Kate asked Luke to help her move her things into the new apartment. What started as your normal romantic moving-day, turns out as a fatal realization for these two.

6 thoughts on “Drinking Buddies (2013) Movie Review

  1. CMrok93

    Good review. Watching this movie made me feel as if I was hanging around with a bunch of my friends, just sitting around, cracking jokes, having a good time and drinking some brews. The only difference here being is that most of them are definitely not as attractive as these people here.

  2. 13mesh

    Hahaha thanks Dan. That’s true. I don’t know what will I do if I have a friend who looks like Olivia Wilde.

  3. jmartin1344

    Love the review, I watched this film recently and really enjoyed it basically for the reasons you mentioned, which were the cast and the improvised natural nature of the acting. I rated it slightly higher than you did in my review, but not much. Look forward to browsing your other stuff!

  4. 13mesh

    Hey James, thank you for dropping by. I also thought the acting was really good, I love it when actor improvised. You are most welcome to look around, although it’s still amateur compare to your site. Wow! that’s some great work there 🙂

  5. jmartin1344

    Thanks very much! I managed to find a good theme but it’s all flash right now as I’m sure you’re site has just as many readers (if not many more!). I’m working on it though. I’ll be sure to keep checking out your reviews. Thanks again for stopping by my site

Leave A Comment

