Director Movies Review: Alfonso Cuarón

Alfonso Cuarón’s Movies Review…

After watching him winning the best director for Gravity last Sunday at the Oscars, the idea came to me – why not have Director Movies Review!

Y Tu Mamá También (2001)

I remember how popular this movie was when it released back in 2001 (kidding, I don’t remember shit from 2001). Y Tu Mamá También tells the story of two best friends in Mexico who embarks on a road trip along with one older woman. Why the woman is there? She is the wife of the rich kid’s cousin and when he offers her to tag along, she said “why the hell not”. What happens next is the boys and their sexual guidance experience numerous of life-changing events from sexual-awakening to looking at life and friendship in a different manner.

I really enjoyed watching this film. I feel Y Tu Mamá También depicts the theme “coming of age” perfectly. Why do all coming-of-age movies have to involves heartbreak, love story or guilt trip? The film succeeds on delivering the message “cherish the memory” and “live your life to the fullest” to the audience.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)

Would you believe me when I tell you that Prisoner of Azkaban is the first Harry Potter movie I watched? I remember feeling anxious not knowing what the next 142 minutes will be like. Little did I know that once the credit rolls, I ended up so in love with the movie I watched the first and second movies afterwards. Although I enjoyed them, Prisoner of Azkaban has set a standard in my mind. The movie is dark and grim and totally perfect for the series future plot.

Children of Men (2006)

Children of Men is a gem among the haystack of sci-fi and fantasy movies out there. Taking place in 2027, when there are no single babies alive, mankind are facing extinction. But in the corner of a dystopian London, a woman miraculously got pregnant. Alfonso Cuaron did another fine job, he really understands the grit and darkness. The film isn’t too bleak, it is depressing for sure, but it’s also artistic. Cuaron handles the thought-provoking script like a pro; this is his big break I believe.

Gravity (2013)

Gravity is the brainchild of Cuarón and there is no denying how astonishing and extraordinary the film is. I remember thinking the film might be blown out of the proportion by critics and viewers before watching it in Imax 3D and obviously I was wrong. The experience after watching Gravity was so surreal and fantastic (just like having sex while being drunk) that it stayed with me until now.

Great Expectations (1998)

I have written a long review for Great Expectations but since I am doing director movies review, this too shall be included. Mr Cuaron has stated that he regret making this movie, I understand why he would feel that way but I think he shouldn’t take it too seriously. The modern interpretation of Great Expectations might be silly, but being a huge fan of the book myself, I welcome the change and applaud the creative storytelling Cuarón did in this one.

Note: I will write a more comprehensive review in the future. Hope you enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Director Movies Review: Alfonso Cuarón

  1. 13mesh

    That he sure is! I am curious on what his next project will be. Surpassing Gravity will be a hard thing to do.

  2. 13mesh

    Ahh thank you, Adam. Glad to find a friend on this. Prisoner of Azkaban is really different than the other installment. I do like the rest of them, and thought the last film was done well, but still Cuaron’s version stands in a different league than the other directors.

Leave A Comment

