Reservoir Dogs (1992) Movie Review

There’s a mole in this group…

They were six perfect strangers gathered by a mob boss for one jewellery heist. But things turned wrong when police ambushed their operation. How did the police find out? Did someone rat them out? Suspicion ensues and blood spills. Reservoir Dogs is the acclaimed Quentin Tarantino’s directional debut. I have always love Tarantino. I love his direction style, his confident on-screen and his strange scripts. I love his narratives, his weird characters and his undying love for violence. And all of these statement is found in Reservoir Dogs. Maybe some more than the other, regardless, this movie marks a great trend in movie directing that become the director’s trademark.

What makes Reservoir Dogs different from your crime-job-went-wrong type of films is it focuses on its characters and dialogues rather than action. Tarantino understands that he is making a thriller movie and not an action flick. He wants his audience to feel these characters desperation and fears. My favourite characters areΒ Mr Pink played by Steve Buscemi, Mr Blonde played by Michael Madsen and Mr White played by Harvey Keitel. They are all well-written you can’t shake it off your memory. Mr Orange played by Tim Roth is important for the movie, but he didn’t impress me, his character is poorly developed and abruptly dismissed.

I also love the setting in Reservoir Dogs, which mostly takes place in an abandoned warehouse. The movie Indie feel is also perfect for this movie. Imagine if Reservoir Dogs is directed by Michael Bay or Paul Greengrass and distributed by some major studios in Hollywood? I am sure I won’t enjoy it as much as I did.

The film has many memorable scenes, but if I have to pick one it would be the scene when Mr Pink runs from the police and hijack a woman’s car. For me, the scene is so brutal and funny it perfectly sums up Tarantino’s style.

Reservoir Dogs is a refreshing suspense for both Tarantino’s and movie goers to enjoy.

8 thoughts on “Reservoir Dogs (1992) Movie Review

  1. 13mesh

    Hahaha the ear cutting scene is so freaky, I didn’t see it coming at all. The movie made me want to have Tarantino’s movie marathon afterwards πŸ™‚

  2. 13mesh

    I like Pulp Fiction as well. But if I have to choose it certainly will be Kill Bill 1 & 2 and Inglorious Basterds πŸ™‚

  3. 13mesh

    I loved Django! It’s definitely very stylish, but still not as good as Inglorious. I might be biased of Inglorious because I prefer WWII to Spaghetti Western πŸ˜€

Leave A Comment

