The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) Movie Review

This family is awesome in a weird way…

In the 70s, the Tenenbaums is a rich family who resides in New York. The story begins when the father left (kicked out by the wife) and return when he has a fatal illness. Once again The Tenenbaums are reunited, but things have changed since then and so have their problems. Can the grown-up kids cope up with their eccentric father behaviour while figuring out life along the way?

I am aware of Wes Anderson’s “quirkism” and it clearly shows here. The film has brilliant induced dark humour without going too extensive. The way Wes Anderson balance between the “normal” and “weird” tone in the film is exceptional – you won’t feel overwhelmed by it. The film’s artistic setting also look groovy on-screen, giving off the 70s vibe. While the script is pretty simple, it tells about a family and how it functions. Every families are different but in the end they are still that, a family. The interaction and chemistry between the cast is solid. By casting Gene Hackman as the father and Anjelica Huston as the mother, Wes Anderson did a marvelous job by pairing them with Ben Stiller, Gwyneth Paltrow and Luke Wilson as the children. They are all well-written and peculiar characters at the same time. Arguably Luke Wilson as Richie Tenenbaums is my favourite.

In the end, The Tenenbaums come off as a stylish movie with heart. This is my first Wes Anderson film and I am already a fan.

15 thoughts on “The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) Movie Review

  1. Mark Hobin

    A lot of people call this his best film so a good one to start off with. Please do yourself a favor and go see The Grand Budapest Hotel in theaters now. Why? I wrote a review if you’re interested… 😉

  2. 13mesh

    It really is something ha ha. I like Anderson’s style and will watch more of his movies down the road 🙂

  3. 13mesh

    Ahh I haven’t seen that one, heard many good things about it too. Rushmore seems interesting, but for some reason I am more curious about The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou ha ha. Thank you buddy 🙂

  4. 13mesh

    Hey Mark! Glad to see you here. I am looking forward to see The Grand Budapest, but I don’t think it will play in my local cinema. Have to wait for the online version, sadly ha ha. I have always love your review and The Grand Budapest is no different 😀

    Thank you for stopping by!

  5. caragale

    Nice review, Mesh! Gosh it’s been forever since I’ve seen this one. Your review makes me want to give it another watch! I’ve also been very curious about Grand Budapest Hotel…Well now I just want to have an Anderson marathon. Hahaha.

  6. thycriticman

    Why oh why I have not watched this yet? I must very soon. Considering his new flick has not come out in Canada yet, I may as well start watching his older films to keep me patient!!!

  7. 13mesh

    I am also looking forward to Grand Budapest Hotel, the trailer looks awesome. Hahaha Anderson marathon sounds challenging for me, but I’m sure you can do it 😀

  8. 13mesh

    Whaat? I thought you would have seen this one. But, yes I think you should give this one a try. The film definitely exceeds my expectation.

  9. keith7198

    Fine review! I have one written and ready for this. I also LOVE your favorite scene. It features Anderson’s careful but effective way of maneuvering around sensitive yet funny material.

  10. 13mesh

    Hi there, thank you for dropping by. Anderson is truly a mastermind, isn’t he? I am going to watch his other movies soon.

  11. snapcracklewatch

    I am so happy you are no longer a Wes Anderson virgin. How did you go so long? Among us movie freaks that is the equivalent to being a 40 year old virgin hahaha. I am glad you liked it, you definitely need to check more of them out. You should try out Moonrise Kingdom next, most people like that one, Aquatic Life that’s mixed, for me it is the one I do not like. Darjeeling Limited that is also mixed, but one of my faves. Looking forward to hearing what you think about all the WA flicks.

  12. 13mesh

    HAHAHAHA. 40 year old “Wes Anderson” virgin doesn’t sound good at all, I know. I am definitely checking his next movies out. Probably will start with Moonrise Kingdom or not Aquatic Life (I like weird movies so will see how I like it, but thanks for the warning).

    Have you watch his latest flick? I really dig the trailer. Plus, who wouldn’t wanna watch Voldemort in a hotel, right? 😀

  13. snapcracklewatch

    So annoying… I just wrote you a big comment and it disappeared!!!!!!!!!! 😦

    I am glad you are no longer a WA virgin hallelujah. As I mentioned those movies are mixed some people absolutely love them, some hate, so it all ends up depending how the movies make you feel or if you connect with them. Look forward to hearing what you pick next.

    I totally want to see it!!! For the past 2 weekends I have been meaning to go and then something comes up and I cant go. Other part of it is that it is only playing at one theater here so it makes it inconvenient. But I am going to see I have to. 🙂

Comments are closed.