Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014) Movie Review

This Is Captain America 1.5…

There have been many talks about the Russo brothers this past couple of weeks and I can imagine why. These two went from directing the HORRENDOUS You, Me and Dupree and Community (TV) and landed this gig! Now back to directing, I feel Captain America started off pretty comic’ish. I feel like I am reading the comics when I am actually seeing it on the big screen. The movie begins with Steve Rogers in Washington DC where he befriend Sam Wilson at some park. Later on, the scene jumped to Nick Furry and the SHIELD. Okay, sure we get it, Cap is working for them now and obviously there is a mission for him. You are right, Black Widow a.k.a the sexiest female character in comic books appeared and together they investigate and defeat French pirates who hijacked a ship. Comic’ish, am I right?

The Russo brothers tried to pull the audience into the comic realm by inserting many storyline into the first half an hour. Once you get the hang of it, they then slowed down and let you breath. Personally it can be overwhelming, but I don’t think this is a bad way of directing, in fact it was quite refreshing.

It’s inevitable not to compare this movie with the first one – the one that launched Captain America into household stardom. Like many have said, The Winter Soldier has acquired a rather gritty and darker tone. The first movie feels like a war-piece action movie, while this one comes off as political thriller. The Winter Solder is fill with layers and layers of conspiracy and betrayal like you have never seen before.

Another thing that caught my eyes is the cinematography. I know I always include this aspect in my other reviews, because I realized this is a crucial element in movie making, especially for action-packed movies. The high above shot from the hijacked ship scene, to fighting-the-bad-guys towards the end: Captain America is one hell of a ride for my eyes! As any other Marvel movies, Captain America: The Winter Solider doesn’t forget its sense of humor! My personal favourite is the time Pierce asked Furry to remind Iron Man to come to his niece’s birthday party!

The Winter Solider can feel like it’s not the second installment of Captain America, because the villains are actually the same: Bucky. Now I understand why The Russos included the whole SHIELD conspiracy storyline, it is in fact to delude the audience into believing they are watching a new chapter of Captain America. Once I watched the movie and went on browsing for the back story, I realized why Bucky needs to be there. For those who are not familiar with him, he is basically Cap’s side kick and has always been there in the comic books, so it’s pretty hard not to include him and start over with a new villain. This “twist” will earn positive praises from Captain America’s hard-core fans but it might leave the non fans baffled.

Funny scene: Cap and Black Widow are on the run from the corrupt SHIELD agents, they need to disguise to blend in with the citizen. Cap in glasses and Widow in hoodie? hell yeah!

Action Scene: Cap is in the elevator with 10 other SHIELD agents who want to take him out. Cap beats those sons of bitc*** down in less than a minute and jump down to the ground without a scratch.

Chris Evans as Captain America is the wisest choice Marvel has ever done. He delivered another memorable performance, maybe not as personal as the first movie, but definitely up there. Where else Scarlett Johansson and Samuel L. Jackson are always at their best.

Despite the straight-from-the-comic way of directing, the Russo brothers managed to deliver a solid-packed and fun movie.

14 thoughts on “Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014) Movie Review

  1. sidekickreviews

    The elevator scene is fantastic, I actually saw that entire scene in a preview so I was spoiled a bit. I had a blast with this movie, I want to see it again soon. Good review!

  2. 13mesh

    The film is fun, especially with its awesome action scenes. Wait, are you saying you don’t watch superheroes movie? What’s your favourite one?

  3. snapcracklewatch

    Yeah I am not huge on superhero movies, I used to read the Wolverine and Archie comics when I was a kid, tat’s about it. lol. I liked the first Spiderman the one with Kristin Dunst back in the day and I can’t think of many more I have seen except for one of the xmen ones and I have to admit it was cool. This Winter Soldier one has me intrigued though I guess all you guys are making me want to see it. Gasp!!!!!!!

  4. 13mesh

    Hahaha x-men is the bomb. They are my favourite superhero group ever! I also like the old Spiderman except the third one. That was just plain silly.You should give Cap a chance, you might ended up liking it.

  5. 13mesh

    Lol the first Iron Man is cool. Many people liked it, so you are not left out. I am looking forward to the new X-men this year. JUST CAN’T WAIT.

  6. jjames36

    Hey, Melissa. This one, I think, you’d probably like, because it isn’t your traditional comic book flick. There’s more going on here. For whatever that’s worth.

  7. jjames36

    Great review! And agreed that Cap is better than Iron Man and Thor. And that this is something of a continuation of Avengers, but I, personaly, like that. Why? Because, as much as I love Evans in the role and as much as I like the character in general, Captain America isn’t conceptually complicated. He’s idealistic, optimistic and patriotic. And not much beyond that, really. Plus, The Winter Soldier is set up as a spy thriller, something at which Cap has zero skill. He can command soldiers like no other and personally defeat armies, but he isn’t going to sneak around and lie to save his skin.

    For those two reasons alone . . . enter Black Widow. She is uniquely skilled at spying, making her better suited to this movie’s plot line. And she is far more layered than Captain America. Plus, of course, she’s Cap’s opposite, giving the filmmakers ample opportunity to create an odd-couple type situation.

    I guess it’s safe to say . . . I like the inclusion of Black Widow. 🙂

  8. 13mesh

    Hey Josh, thank you for the comment! And wow man, I never think it that way. You are absolutely right. I think the mystery on why Black Widow and Nick Furry are in Cap America 2 is now officially resolved.

    PS: glad I am not alone on Thor and Iron Man comparison 🙂

  9. CMrok93

    It’s a fun movie even when it does get a bit into its own plot-line. A plot-line which, mind you, doesn’t make all that much sense when it first starts going. Good review.

  10. 13mesh

    It was pretty confusing at the beginning, but the action was so much fun to bother with the plot haha.

Comments are closed.