Two In One: Classic Movies Review

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly & Seven Samurai

How do I managed to get myself to watch these classics? I don’t even know. I’m proud of myself, actually.

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Who haven’t heard of this movie, or perhaps who haven’t heard of this movie’s background score? Yes, The Good, The Bad and The Ugly is wildly regarded by many movie goers and critics as one of the best Spaghetti Western flick and they are not entirely wrong. The last entry in the so-called trilogy brought both its director and actors to household fame. I can’t blame those who regards this movie with the highest respect, because despite my lack of interest for Western genre, the movie turns out surprisingly well. Of course you got the slick style gun action, gunslinger with cowboy hats, horses, lots of horses, and cringe-worthy dialogues but the movie also offers something else. To my surprise, The Good The Bad and The Ugly is one funny movie and this is due to the brilliant acting of Eli Wallach who plays Tuco a.k.a The Ugly in the film. His character is what gets me through the movie if I am being brutally honest. For that, thank you Eli Wallach!

Seven Samurai

My oh my was this movie long! I must have watched the 190 minutes of the “edited” version out of its original 208 minutes. I despises long movies. Fist of all, I think it would be wise to start this review with a caution. If you are like me, who foolishly think Seven Samurai will have lots of cool swords-slashing-samurai-worthy scenes, then you are in for a disappointment. No, Seven Samurai is at best a drama movie. The story of seven ronin a.k.a masterless Samurai who help poor farmers to defend their village from raging bandits is low on the action side but high on drama. The film has all the right characters to make you care. From the poor farmers who have nothing to eat, masterless samurai with hearts of gold to evil bandits who come and terrorize defenseless people, I understand why Seven Samurai holds its steady rank on the classic movies altar. However on the down side, with its black and white shot, distracting camera work, poorly executed action and way too long duration, I can’t help but feel disoriented once the film ends. But I understand I am watching a very old movie and for that Seven Samurai has my highest regards.

4 thoughts on “Two In One: Classic Movies Review

  1. sidekickreviews

    Great reviews. I actually haven’t gotten around to these classics though I probably caught pieces of them on TV. The run time of of SS is pretty daunting too, but hey it’s a classic for good reason right?

  2. 13mesh

    Me too. I must have seen The Good, The Bad and The Ugly countless of times before on TV and I’m glad I get around to actually watch it haha. It can be pretty daunting, but you are absolutely right, Seven Samurai is a must watch for cinephiles out there! 🙂

Comments are closed.