Guardians of the Galaxy (2014): 5 Favourite Scenes!

It’s official: Guardians Of The Galaxy is a blockbuster hit with over $300 million income world-wide! (17/8/2014)

I loved it, You loved it, We All loved it. Hereby, I present you my five favourite scenes from 2014’s hippest movie.

Note: No Ranks, Spoiler Alert and We Are Groot!

Prison Break

Scene: After being captured by The Nova Corps, the four misfits are held in a prison called Kyln and in there they meet another team member: Drax the Destroyer. Following Rocket’s plan, they then work together and managed to escape the prison.

My Take: Despite the absence of Adam Warlock, Phyla-Vell and the awesome Mantis in this movie, I think the five Guardians did wonderful. The prison break scene mark their first time working side by side as a team and boy wasn’t it entertaining! Gamora and Drax are simply kick-ass, while Rocket, Groot and Quill cover the comical department that made me laughed so hard. Rocket stole the scene by being the funniest animal in space when he asked Quill to steal one of the inmate’s metallic leg just for fun!

Rocket Raccoon: That dude there. I need his prosthetic leg.

Peter Quill: His leg?

Rocket Raccoon: Yeah. God knows I don’t need the rest of him. Look at him. He’s useless.

Kevin Bacon Introduction

Scene: Inside the Milano space ship, Quill makes Gamora listen to his walk-man and introduced her to his idol Kevin Bacon. Quill also tried to kiss her but that didn’t turn out too well.

My Take: Director James Gunn has stated in an interview that the decision behind using 80s pop culture reference in the film is to establish a relationship between Quill and the audience. It’s his way to make Peter Quill more relatable among the aliens, and as predicted it works. The idea of cartoonish dialogue in a superhero movie has become a trend. From Iron Man trilogies to The Avengers – Marvel excels in delivering running gags. However, as you may noticed the jokes in GOTG is slightly different: it’s goofy, not serious and non threatening. Since GOTG includes a vast and complex comic universe, the constant running gags in the film is meant to warm up the audience to a new and strange band of superheroes.

PS: No one laughed at the Kevin Bacon’s joke in my theatre! True story.

Gamora: I’m a warrior, an assassin. I don’t dance.

Peter Quill: Really? Well, on my planet, we have a legend about people like you. It’s called Footloose. And in it, a great hero named Kevin Bacon teaches an entire city full of people with sticks up their butts that, dancing, well, is the greatest thing there is.

Groot & Metaphor

Scene: The last fight between Ronan and his army VS Guardians with Nova Corp.

My Take: The fighting sequences in GOTG is nothing spectacular, but what they lack in action they make up in comedy. It’s obvious that the actors were having fun while filming it and that energy translates well on the screen. Who would have thought that the mighty and adorable Groot can yank several bad guys from left to right without any hesitation? And aren’t we glad Drax finally learn the term metaphor when he killed Kroath? Plus how bad-ass is Zoe Saldana as Gamora? I don’t know about you guys but Mrs Saldana is my favourite action heroine!

Drax the Destroyer: Finger on throat means death!

[kills Korath]

Drax the Destroyer: Metaphor.

Peter Quill: …Close enough.

Dancing Solve Any Problems

ScenePeter Quill distracts the weird-looking Ronan with his dance moves and saving Xandar at the end.

My TakeI have few doubts about the movie after I read the comic books. I mean James Gunn really downplay the complex history of GOTG universe and turned it into something else… which is not a bad thing now that I’ve seen them. For once I am glad the director didn’t follow the comic’s plot too closely, because let’s face it, Guardians of the Galaxy at times can be confusing with their space galore and parallel dimension. However, the movie version is simple and attractive for a series entry. I am particularly fond of the scene when Quill distracts Ronan – it’s ridiculous for sure, but it was a bold move that demonstrates James Gunn’s talent as a director.

Speaking of talent, kudos to the CGI team for making Lee Pace unrecognisable throughout the movie. Oh and my humble gratitude to the 3D effects guys, it was one hell of a ride!

Ronan: Citizens of Xandar, behold your guardians of the galaxy! What fruit have they wrought?

Peter Quill: [dances] Ooh, child, things are gonna get easier. Ooh child, things will get brighter. You listen to these words. Ooh child, things are gonna get easier. Ooh child things’ll get brighter. Then bring it down hard! Someday…

Ronan: What are you doing?

Peter Quill: Dance-off, bro. Me and you.

Awesome Mix Volume

Scene: After saving the day and defeating Ronan, Star-Lord gives the real Infinity Stone back to the Nova Corps and learned his real identity at the end.

My Take: What a great scene to showcase Chris Pratt’s talent! I have been a long-time fan of his work since The OC, Jennifer’s Body and of course Parks and Recreation; and I am really glad Chris Pratt has finally got the exposure he rightfully deserves. Judging by the way things end, I am excited to see who will Gunn choose to be Peter Quill’s father. I vote for Adam Warlock if it’s not too obvious.

Meredith Quill: [letter] Dear Peter: I know this will be hard for you, but I’m going somewhere good and nice. But know this: I will always be with you, my angel from heaven, my prince… my Star-Lord.

Thank you for reading. Like, share and subscribe!

10 thoughts on “Guardians of the Galaxy (2014): 5 Favourite Scenes!

  1. sidekickreviews

    People in the theatres here laughed at the Kevin Bacon joke. Loved the dance off part, haha can’t wait to rewatch it! Hey I see you’ve been keeping up with your TV reviews, I wish I could contribute to the conversation but I haven’t been watching much new stuff lately.

  2. 13mesh

    Me too, hope to see it for the second time. One time is not enough.

    Hahah no worries. I still watch TV, although lately I’ve been catching up with old series rather than new one’s. I can recommend The Leftovers if you are interested; it’s quite a surreal show.

  3. 13mesh

    Oh yeah the first two/three episodes were confusing as heck, but it got much better. In fact, I don’t watch any other shows besides Leftovers now 😀

  4. 13mesh

    Guardians is the best!

    Anddd you are into The Leftovers?! OMG yay! Have you seen last Sunday’s episode? It was nuts.

  5. snapcracklewatch

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSS of course come on now! It’s getting so good, I am really liking it. The first few episodes I was on the fence, but I am a believer now. Which characters do you like so far? I really like Nora and Garvey’s daughter.

  6. 13mesh

    Ahh I was dying to talk to someone about that episode! It was so perfect in many ways. I agree, I was hesitant at first too.

    I love Nora and Laurie (though she can be annoying at times). And of course Patti. Geez was she a bitch or what? lol

    Does this show reminds you of Lost btw? I love the flashback and stand alone episodes. I was hoping to see Locke pop out any second there haha

  7. snapcracklewatch

    Ohhh of course! Patti is seriously crazy! I mean was… good god. I did like the whole integration of the flashbacks because I think we needed to see that.

    OMG yes you are so right. It is very much shaped like Lost. I think Jacob will be in the next episode. LOL.

Leave A Comment

